carcass cover

Carcass announced their most awaited studio album after eight years.

British and iconic extreme metal pioneers from the Wirral, Carcass announced their most awaited studio album. Eight years has passed since their last masterpiece “Surgical Steel” was released. “Torn Arteries” is the band´s seventh album and will be out on September, 17th via Nuclear Blast Records. Along with the announcement, the band shared with their solid fan base a new song of their forthcoming album titled “Kelly´s Meat Emporium” that is now available on all stream platforms.

Carcass´ new album to be released in September

For three decades, the masters of the most extreme form of death metal have been surprising their audience with their ferocious and grotesque sounds and lyrics. Back in 2019, the band released their very first single in over five years named “Under the scalpel blade”, followed by a four-track EP called “Despicable” in October, 2020. Their new album´s title is a reference to their old demo created by Ken Owens, the band´s original drummer back in the 1980´s, and a connection with the band´s roots.

carcassWhen it comes to the “Torn Arteries” artwork we can find some relations to Carcass grotesque photography that can be seen on the band´s classic albums like “Symphonies of Sickness” or “Reek of putrefaction” collage.

The artist, Zbigniew Bielak worked on a time-lapsed set of pictures showing veggies shaped like a heart, rotting over time on a white plate. It is said that this form of extreme artwork was influenced by Japanese Kusôzu, meaning “painting of the nine stages of a decaying corpse.”

Recently, Jeff Walker (bassist/vocalist) stated “It’s very clean, white, which we’ve never done before. It doesn’t look evil, or typically death metal, but I like how clean it is; almost like a coffee table book.”

Walker also said “I think as our seventh album, it does stand out from the others both sonically and stylistically. You can definitely tell that it’s CARCASS; when you drop that needle on the vinyl, when you hear that guitar tone, you can tell it’s Bill Steer, but each album is always a product of its time.”

With “Torn Arteries”, each track stands unique from the rest in its approach to guitar, bass, vocals and drumming, along with all the finer details. Filthy and dominating guitar work creates thick layers of tone and melody, piling on top of each other like the weight of dead flesh in tracks like “Kelly’s Meat Emporium”.

“Torn Arteries” track listing:

01. Torn Arteries
02. Dance of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstances March No. 1)
03. Eleanor Rigor Mortis
04. Under The Scalpel Blade
05. The Devil Rides Out

06. Flesh Ripping Sonic Torment Limited
07. Kelly’s Meat Emporium
08. In God We Trust
09. Wake Up And Smell The Carcass / Caveat Emptor
10. The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing

The band will be touring Europe with Arch Enemy and Behemoth. Tickets are on sale.